You are here

Events

* You may read down the page, or choose a link to jump to either of the two categories and navigate by headings.

AAVL Events

non-AAVL Events

AAVL Events

AAVL 3-Part Podcast Series on Fall Prevention

The Fall Prevention podcast program was held October 7, 12 and 14, 2021.  See our AAVL Resources page to listen to the 3 podcast links and download the MS Word resources.

AAA Project

Would you like to catch up? - if you would like to participate, and haven’t yet started the process, either:
Watch the podcast of our April 11 Zoom event https://pnc.st/s/acb-events/325760ad/aavl-and-area-agencies-on-aging-aaa-april-11-2021
or
Go to AAA Project Detailed Instructions
or download your preferred format of AAA Project Detailed Instructions below to start the project:
.doc AAA Project Detailed Instructions
.pdf AAA Project Detailed Instructions
.txt AAA Project Detailed Instructions

For General info:
Go to AAVL Seeks to Coordinate with Area Agencies on Aging
or download your preferred format of the AAA Project Promo Letter below:
.doc AAA Project Promo Letter
.pdf AAA Project Promo Letter
.txt AAA Project Promo Letter

Go to Area Agencies on Aging and How they Help You
or download your preferred format of the AAA Information Sheet below:
.doc AAA Information Sheet
.pdf AAA Information Sheet
.txt AAA Information Sheet

AAVL Special Monthly Meetings

AAVL will hold special monthly meetings on topics of interest to its members.  All such meetings will take place on
the fourth Monday of every month starting at 2:00 PM ET, 1:00 PM CT, noon MT, 11:00 AM PT and 8:00 AM HT.  All meetings will be done on Zoom and play on ACB Media 5.  Look for the Zoom instructions in the ACB Community emails.

"The Ins and Outs of Sight Loss Later in Life"

Support Group Call. Tuesdays at 4:00 PM Eastern time, 1:00 PM Pacific time AAVL sponsors a community call support group for people losing sight at older ages called "The Ins and Outs of Sight Loss Later in Life".  Look for the Zoom instructions in the ACB Community emails.

California Affiliate Support Group Call

The California Alliance on Aging and Vision Loss, a state affiliate member of AAVL, also sponsors a group support call on Friday mornings, from 10:00 AM until 11:00 AM Pacific time. 

AAVL at ACB Conventions

AAVL hosts several events during the annual convention of the American Council of the Blind (ACB) held each July.  These events typically consist of a luncheon meeting with guest speaker occasionally followed by AAVL’s annual business meeting and a mixer at which members have a chance to socialize and get to know each other.

ACB 2022 Convention in Omaha, Nebraska
AAVL's hybrid programming began with a presentaion by Lori Scharff about everything you need to know about the Medicare program.  AAVL joined with the ACB Rehabilitation taskforce for a panel on opportunities for obtaining Medicaid funding for vision rehabilitation services.  It joined with ACB Women for two sessions on housing choices for adults with vision loss.

AAVL at previous ACB Conventions
https://www.aavl-blind-seniors.org/past-AAVL-at-ACB-conventions

Cookbook

AAVL has produced a cookbook containing your original recipes.  Appetizers to desserts round out the cookbook.  It will be produced in all formats.  You can read more about it and how to order at https://www.aavl-blind-seniors.org/cookbook.

non-AAVL Events

ACB Daily Community Calls

ACB hosts daily community calls on the Zoom platform. Between eight to twelve calls take place each day covering a vast variety of topics including social, technology, support, crafts, music, special groups and quite a few more.  For more information and to learn how to join any of the calls, visit the web site:
http://www.acblists.org/mailman/listinfo/acb-community-events(link is external)

Aging and Vision Loss National Coalition (AVLNC)

The Aging and Vision Loss National Coalition (AVLNC) is a consortium of leaders comprised of national, state, local, private, and public agencies with the goal of advocating for equal access and quality of life for older Americans with vision loss.  AVLNC has established one, two and three year plans to seek better understanding of and services for seniors experiencing sight loss.  It seeks volunteers to serve on its four subcommittees; Public Awareness, Data and Research, Access to Quality Vision Rehabilitation Services, and Policy and Funding.  For more information, visit its web site at:
https://visionservealliance.org/avlnc/?mc_cid=ff28833fca&mc_eid=cc266e9c8d(link is external)

Visibilities Community Call

Fridays at 7:00 PM Eastern time, 4:00 PM Pacific time Visibilities presents topics of interest to older people with sight loss through a community call.  Look for the Zoom instructions in the ACB Community emails.